Career and Technical Education (CTE) is the practice of teaching specific career skills to students in middle school, high school, and post-secondary institutions. Students build highly specific and highly versatile essential skills. Practice, hands-on experience and application tests are important as CTE prepares students to start their careers.

The Academy will reinvent career and technical education as it evolves from a vocational school model to one that ladders secondary education to higher education; builds careers in skilled trades, technology and applied sciences and meets the demands for “up skilling” of today’s workforce. Critical for developing and expanding workforce opportunities, the Academy will prepare students in Dickinson and surrounding school districts as they get ready to enter the workforce. Students will benefit from education and training opportunities offered through Dickinson State University’s laddered early entry Dual Mission Program.

Programs of study will parallel ND CTE Program Areas or Career Clusters. They include: Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources; Architecture & Construction; Arts, A/V Technology & Communications; Business Management & Administration; Education & Training; Finance; Government & Public Administration; Health Sciences; Hospitality & Tourism; Human Services; Information Technology; Law, Public Safety, Corrections & Security; Manufacturing; Marketing; Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics; and Transportation, Distribution & Logistics. Some courses are currently offered through Dickinson Public School’s CTE program, by Dickinson State University as an early entry dual
credit course or by Roughrider Area Career and Tech Center as a partner program at Dickinson High School and by other schools in the region. The Academy will not duplicate existing programs offered in the region but will instead build upon them where needed.

Governing Board

Brent Seaks, President
Dickinson Public Schools

Barb Meduna, Vice President
South Heart Public Schools

Kimberly Schwartz, Secretary/Treasurer
Dickinson Public Schools

Pamla Kukla
Killdeer Public Schools

Connie Jalbert
New England Public Schools

Wes Krebs
Belfield Public Schools

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.